Fall World 2016

Conference & Exhibit

Attend The #1 BC/DR Event!

Spring Journal

Volume 29, Issue 2

Full Contents Now Available!

Do We Really Need Another Business Continuity Standard?

Written by  COLE EMERSON Wednesday, 27 April 2011 17:28

It seems like less than a decade ago we didn’t have any standards on business continuity in the United States, and now we have four from which to choose. I’m not complaining, but now it’s almost like going to the restaurant that has so much on the menu you find it difficult to choose what to eat. We have the three standards currently recognized by US-DHS Prep as part of the voluntary certification program: ANSI/ASIS SPC.1-2009 Organizational Resilience: Security, Preparedness, and Continuity Management Systems-Requirements with Guidance for Use; BS 25999-2:2007-A Specification for BCM; and NFPA 1600:2010 Standard on Disaster/Emergency Management and Business Continuity Programs And we now have the new ASIS/BSI.01-2010 Business Continuity Management Systems: Requirements with Guidance for Use approved on November 2, 2010. So what’s new or different about this ASIS/BSI standard? Does it replace one of the existing three standards? Is it intended


Not a Member? Subscribe Today For Free! Membership Includes:

  • Free delivery of DRJ's Quarterly Magazine
  • Free online access of DRJ's latest Magazine
  • Free access to the DRJ Archives
  • Informational Updates
  • Conference alerts and information
  • Free White Papers
  • Free blog posting
  • And much more!