Spring World 2018

Conference & Exhibit

Attend The #1 BC/DR Event!

Fall Journal

Volume 30, Issue 3

Full Contents Now Available!

Tuesday, 15 August 2017 14:51

The Four, No… The Five “P”s of IT Service Design

People, products, processes, and partners are the four “P”s of IT service design in a lifecycle model for IT services, but is there something missing?

The IT service design stage is part of a lifecycle, such as the five-phase lifecycle of service strategy, service design, service transition, service operation, and continual service improvement.

At the design stage, needs and requirements (gathered during the previous strategy phase) are translated into corresponding IT services. But is there a mechanism to ensure that those services will then in turn satisfy the users for which they are destined? Designing in an additional “P” feature could help.

The idea for the additional “P” feature comes from the world of supply chain. When enterprises make and ship goods and services to end-customers, they may use the “perfect order rate” as a measure of success.