Spring World 2017

Conference & Exhibit

Attend The #1 BC/DR Event!

Spring Journal

Volume 30, Issue 1

Full Contents Now Available!

Thursday, 17 July 2014 14:16

US Adopts ISO 22301 As National Standard

ISO 22301 Now Included as Part of Private Sector Preparedness (PS-Prep)


PS-Prep program standards provide a comprehensive management systems approach to organizational resilience, and include guidelines that equip decision makers with key processes to improve their organization's ability to maintain operations during and after an emergency or disaster.   

These standards provide realistic guidelines that support the growing importance of business continuity, crisis management, emergency management, and related activities for private sector preparedness.  

As guidelines for private sector preparedness and organizational resilience evolve, standards development organizations periodically revise existing standards, develop new standards, and retire obsolete standards.  PS-Prep ensures its program incorporates the latest versions of these standards.

The PS-Prep program therefore announces changes to its list of adopted standards that serve as its foundation.  In accordance with Department of Homeland Security Directive 078-01, "Adoption and Maintenance of the Department of Homeland Security National Standards," the PS-Prep program will retire  standards that are no longer current  and adopt updated industry standards to replace them.

Two of the previously adopted PS-Prep standards have been retired by the standards development organizations that originally developed them.  The retired standards are:

  1. National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 1600: Disaster/Emergency Management and Business Continuity Programs, 2007 and 2010 editions.
  2. British Standard (BS) Institution 25999-2:2007 Business continuity management Part 2: Specification.

PS-Prep adopted standards now reflect those changes.  In summary, the PS-Prep program's adopted standards list, and the changes to it, follow.

  1. NFPA 1600: Disaster/Emergency Management and Business Continuity Programs, 2013 edition replaces the 2007 and 2010 editions.
  2. International Organization for Standardization (ISO) 22301:2012: Societal security -- Business continuity management systems --- Requirements replaces BS 25999-2:2007.
  3. ASIS International SPC.1-2009, Organizational Resilience:  Security, Preparedness and Continuity Management Systems - Requirements with Guidance for Use Standards.

PS-Prep program information and references will be updated to reflect these changes.  Since the standards that address the private sector's preparedness and organizational resilience

guidelines are expected to advance and grow, PS-Prep anticipates future changes to its foundational standards.   As presented here, similar announcements of all PS-Prep program standards changes will be made as they occur.  For more information click here.